Double Standards: How my respect for Cam Newton grew while it all but disappeared for others

GettyImages-508990066.0

Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

I have never been a Cam Newton fan. I disliked him when he was at Auburn and as far as him being in the NFL, well I forgot about him for the most part until this year. As Newton and his 18-1 Carolina Panthers continued to make their run toward the Super Bowl though, I started to notice my dislike for him disappearing.

It was his attitude that at one point made me say I was not a Newton fan, but as Super Bowl week started to gear up, I found that same attitude pulling me in. I realized that it was his attitude that helped carry his team of no names through a one-loss season. It was his attitude that got his team rallying behind him. It was his attitude that made the Panthers look like they had the most fun out of any team in the league. My respect for the team from Carolina that dealt with doubters all season, myself included, hit an all-time high.

Then came the press conferences and the slew of racially charged questions that I thought the quarterback handled well. According to the media, Newton apparently was the first black quarterback to ever grace the Super Bowl stage, even though there were five prior to him.

But the string of events that turned my dislike into respect was what took place postgame, post-Carolina loss and post-postgame press conferences.

Since football came to a close Sunday night, the media is looking for ways to keep America’s favorite sport in the headlines. And the two biggest headlines this week were: “Why Newton didn’t jump on that final fumble” and “How Newton is the world’s worst loser.”

In regards to the fumble, I don’t know why he didn’t just jump on it. I’d like to think that would be my first reaction if I was a quarterback at the playing stage, but I’ll never know.

What’s really had me going all week though is people’s reaction to his postgame press conference. He left early and gave insufficient answers. He has been called a sore loser, the world’s worst loser, disrespectful, the Donald Trump of the NFL and, well, the list goes on.

On Tuesday, Newton found himself in front of the cameras once again where he said, “Who likes to lose? You show me a good loser, and I’m going to show you a loser.”

He was upset. He just suffered the biggest loss of his career. How would you react? Knowing me, I’d be pretty pissed.

Newton wasn’t fitting the quarterback mold after Sunday’s game. He wasn’t fitting the mold that Denver’s Peyton Manning so uprightly holds. At least so they say.

Newton is being called disrespectful and bitter for leaving a press conference early, but in 2010 Manning was called competitive when he ran off the field before time expired in the Colts’ 31-17 Super Bowl loss to the Saints.

Manning didn’t wait for time to expire and he didn’t shake the hands of his opponents, but according to the reporters he reacted exactly how any competitive athlete should act. He had been working all season to get there only to fall short. So what’s the difference? Why isn’t Newton getting the same understanding?

In my eyes what Manning did in 2010 was the most unsportsmanlike thing to do, and I can thank my mom for that lesson. When I was 7 years old and extremely competitive, my soccer team lost by one goal. I was beyond pissed and refused to shake the other players’ hands. My mom saw me and before the lecture, was dragging me across the field. She made me not only shake the hand of every girl but say sorry for being a sore loser. Let’s just say I learned my lesson. Clearly Archie Manning never taught Peyton Manning that one.

Find any picture of postgame celebrations and you will see Newton shaking Peyton Manning’s hand with a huge congratulatory smile on his face. If I hadn’t watched the game, I wouldn’t have been able to tell who won.

Newton gave praise where it was due on the field and then he headed to the locker room. Instead of his normal flashy outfits for pressers, he slipped on a gray hoodie and kept the hood on. What did the media want? Him flying in with his huge megawatt smile spread across his face?

Newton is only human, yet we hold him along with all professional athletes to a higher standard, they’re heroes right? Just remember that the next time you have a problem with Newton’s Superman celebration reference or Superman T-shirt.

Leave a Reply

